Newer Players

Dear Jerry,

My partner opened an artificial
strong 2 and right-hand opponent
overcalled 2. Holding:

AQ10754 ¥5 SA73 #9642,

I doubled for penalties. Partner in-
terpreted this as a negative double.
A disaster ensued as we stumbled to
a6 ¥ contract. What should I have
done?

Flummoxed

Dear Flummoxed,

It has been a long time since I have
heard the word flummoxed, so I was
compelled to look it up. Apparently its
first known usage was by Charles Dick-
ens in the 1837 novel “The Pickwick
Papers,” and its meaning - perplexed or
bewildered — hasn’t changed. What an
awesome choice of words!

As always, partnership agreement,
or the lack thereof, rears its ugly head.

I suspect many people are flummoxed
by interference in their 2 ¢ auctions. It
has been my experience that less expe-
rienced players tend to pass automati-
cally after the strong opening when, in
fact, they should be looking for reasons
to bid ... hmm, seems I've said this
before.

This is one of the reasons I encour-
age sensible interference over artificial
2 opening bids. Let me expound
before I get back to your specific ques-
tion.
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Your RHO opens 2+¢%. Holding:
AKQJ98 VW6 #854 #8753,

I can’t imagine not overcalling 2.
Even if I'm in deep trouble, it can be
difficult at this stage of the auction for
the opponents to accurately judge that
2 & doubled is their best possible re-
sult. Frequently, responder’s actions -
as in your case - are undiscussed. Even
when discussed, opener often holds an
unbalanced hand with a long suit and
feels the necessity to bid, no matter
what responder seems to think.

Take this information as encourage-
ment to participate more actively in
2% auctions than you have perhaps
done in the past.

Finally, back to your question. In
my regular partnerships, we have the
following agreements for dealing with
interference to a 2+% opener:
® Pass = neutral and game forcing.
® New suit = natural, a reasonable

five-card or longer suit, game-
forcing. The rigid requirements I
suggest for introducing a new suit
after 2+% in an uncontested auc-
tion, i.e., five or more cards with
two of the top three honors, do not
apply in competition.

@ Double = an immediate negative
response. If opener bids his suit,
you are required to bid at least one
time. If opener bids 2NT, which
defines his limits, you can pass, bid
Stayman, or make a transfer.

If 2#% is doubled by your RHO, the
above guidelines still apply except
that redouble is used as the immediate
negative.

These agreements may or may not
have prevented your disaster. Holding
your cards, I would have passed, show-
ing game-going values but no clear
sense of direction that I could express.
If partner bid the probable 3%, 3NT
would seem logical. If he bid either
clubs or diamonds, I would raise. Ona
good day, he might have a three-suited
hand short in spades and reopen with
a double for takeout. I don’t think you
would be perplexed or bewildered by
what to do if this opportunity present-
ed itself! o
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