Dear Jerry,

As aresult of a recent disaster, it is
clear to me that I do not understand
what responder should do after the
opening bid has been doubled for
takeout. I thought with 10 or more
points, I have to redouble then bid.
Surely there is more to this?

Lois

Hi, Lois,

A great question! This is an area of
bidding that many players and partner-
ships do not fully understand. While it
istrue that in an auction such as 1¢ -
Dbl-Redbl, the redouble shows 10 or
more points, it is equally true that the
failure to redouble does not deny 10 or
more points!

This may seem a little contradictory,
so let’s look at this in more detail. As
always, partnership agreements rule!

I believe a redouble should announce
that we have the balance of power
and create a scenario where either we
declare or the opponents play a doubled
contract. Because of this, a redouble
should suggest a balanced type of
holding. Additionally, when you hold
“suits to bid,” you had best start bidding
your suits at your earliest opportunity
despite holding 10 or more points.

Consider these two hands after the
sequence 1lee—Dbl.

1. AKJ104 YVA1072 #Q1094 8

2.A5 YVAQO953 €AQ764 107

With the first hand, holding the req-
uisite 10 high-card points, a singleton
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in partner’s club suit, and four cards

in each of the unbid suits, a redouble
seems the perfect action. If the op-
ponents scramble to any of your suits,
you should be happy to offer double as a
possible end to the auction.

On the second hand, despite 12 HCP,
my preference is 19, showing four or
more hearts, 6 or more points, foreing,
just like it would be if RHO had passed.
Since the opponents rate to have at
least eight spades, I would fear the pos-
sibilities of getting preempted by the
spade suit. Just imagine the following
nightmare auction:

Partner RHO You LHO
1leh Dbl Redbl 24®
Pass 3M&/Pass 7?7

(1) Weak.

Somehow, introducing either of
my suits at the three or the four level
doesn’t feel very appetizing. Am I
supposed to double? (The late Ber-
nie Chazen had a great saying, “Who
doubled? The one with the singleton or
the void?”)

Iwould have felt much better bidding
1% initially, followed by bidding my
diamond suit at my next opportunity.

In addition, one of my old favorites,
“support with support,” is also a factor
in these type auctions. Consider these
four hands after the auction begins
1¥-Dbl-?

1. A86 PWK763 #Q8743 &96
2.MA74 VQ763 487 $A962

3.AK106 YA76 874 K962
4.MQJ84 VY76 €KB874 MA96

On the first hand, you have sub-zero
defense, but with four-card support,
you have reasonable offense. An imme-
diate preemptive jump to 3 ¥ should
describe this type hand.

On the second hand, despite two
black aces (defensive values), your
four-card support for partner’s five-
card or longer suit clearly makes your
hand better for offense, i.e., declaring a
heart contract rather than defending.
You should use the convention called
Jordan 2NT, where responder jumps
to 2NT to describe four-card or longer
support with at least limit-raise values.

On the third, start with a redouble,
which tends to deny support for open-
er’s suit, then follow by raising hearts
to the lowest available level showing
10 or 11 points with exactly three-card
support.

With the fourth hand, redouble, and
then judge what’s best to do when the
auction returns to you.

The bottom line is that you should
prefer to redouble with defensive
values, but bid with offensive playing
strength values. To fully appreciate
these partnership decisions, opener
needs to understand his role after are-
double or a simple suit response. Since
this sermon is already a little long, we’'ll
revisit this subject from opener’s point
of view in a future article. [}



